Thread: Kenpo vs Kung Fu

Thanks

Default Kenpo vs Kung Fu

When I first decided to get back into martial arts I was confronted with a decision to make. I had the large field of martial arts narrowed down to just two styles Kenpo or Kung Fu and made a decision hence I am now a dedicated student of Kenpo. I really like this style and have every confidence in the art but still I wonder how these styles stack up to one another. I know that is a hard question to answer as 99% of the time it comes down to the person, the training they received and how well they can perform the art.

I can’t say enough how much I like Kenpo, but what I have seen of Kung Fu I was very impressed also. I sat through a Hung Gar class and that was one of the wildest things I have ever seen. I had to think wow that looked very cool but is it practical for street use? Would it take fifteen years of study to be streetable (if that is a word?)

I am also in a boat where I can’t afford to study both styles, I don’t have the time to really give both styles the practice time it would take to gain real skill in either. I feel like I would be shortchanging myself in studying two at a time. And I have no idea how bad they would clash in how things are executed.

I guess this is just a long winded way of asking if anyone here has any experience in one of the many Kung Fu styles. If so how does it compare to Kenpo? I guess I am just going through one of those “the grass is greener on the other side phases”. Since I am loyal to Kenpo and plan to stay with this style till I can’t Kenpo any longer I just wonder what I am missing on the other side of the fence.
    A black belt covers 2" of your butt. Covering the rest is soley up to you

KenpoTalk
    1st. Brown Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Kenpo vs Kung Fu