Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions on Kara-Ho anyone?

Thanks

Default Questions on Kara-Ho anyone?

I thought I would start a thread about our system in case anyone has questions about the art.

I am not a senior by any means, I have been training in Kara-Ho since 1992-'93 and I will try to answer any questions you might have and if I do not know the answer I will ask Grandmaster Kuoha personally.

Thanks everyone and have a great night!

james
    The above is just my opinion.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Dianhsuhe For This Useful Post:

Brother John (11-25-2007)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,263 Times in 801 Posts

Default Re: Questions on Kara-Ho anyone?

Other than Sam Kouha(sp) who are the major players in tke Kara Ho world
    Quality outweighs quantity every time.

Thanks

Ah! Good question...

The longest training instructor is Shihan Ben Kahananui (5th Dan), he was the only person other than GM Kuoha to have a Kara-Ho school in the US (Backyard dojo) when Professor Chow passed away in 1987- He has been training since 1970. He lives in Oahu, HI.

The other is Shihan Chris Mendoza (6th Dan) he is a Musculoskeletal (wow-SP?) doctor in Utah and he is the highest ranking individual in our system.

I am trying to organize a family tree for Kara-Ho but most instructors are garage/backyard dojo's so few if any web-sites are around. Grandmasters daughter (Ka'imi) is a 4th dan along with a few others at 4th, some 3rd's then it trickles down... Not very many folks higher than Nidan-

There is alot of material between dan ranks so it is a life-long endeavor.

We really need to have a Kenpotalk get-together one of these days... One of my martial arts goals is to learn more about other Kenpo/Kempo styles and hopefully try to answer any questions about Kara-ho.

Have a great night!

James

KenpoTalk
    Green Belt
    Thanks