Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nick Cerio forms

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    Thanks

Default Nick Cerio forms

Ten years ago I received my black belt in Nick Cerios Kenpo Karate.
    And due to graduating from college and moving out west, that was the last time I really studied the Martial Arts. I'm now studying Ed Parker's kenpo, but would really try to remember my Nick Cerio's material.

I happen to have a copy of the Nick Cerio's Kenpo Master's Text, which has most (but not all) of the forms and techniques.

Form listed in the book are

Blocking Form 1-5
    Pinan 1-3
    Cat 1-3
    Circle of the Tiger
    Circle of the Leopard
    Statue of the Crane
    Circle of the Panther

Now I know there are more forms. I'm almost positive there were at least two other Pinans that I learned (up to black belt, beyond that I don't know if there were more), and the same with the Cats. I'm almost positive there were more than those 3.

The point being I'm trying to locate videos of these forms in order to jog my memory, and hopefully relearn them. The only problem is a lot of video I come across is from the villari system which is different. Their Pinan 3 resembles one of our cat forms (somewhat), so it all looks very familiar, but it's not exactly what I learned. I did come across an old video of Cerio himself, but it a random series of footage, which is great, but not as organized or as complete as I hoped.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Default Re: Nick Cerio forms

Youtube is a great resource for re-familiarization as long as :

1. The form you are looking for is on there

2. You already know the form and need a refresher

A lot of times, you'll get a preview on youtube of a video thats commercially available.

By far the best method (and often the most difficult) is to try to find an Instructor in your lineage. Perhaps your old instructor is still teaching and you can contact them for information or where to go from here.

Best of luck!