Thread: Hand Conditioning

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Yellow Belt
    Thanks

Default Hand Conditioning

I am interested in know how many people on this forum do any form of hand conditioning, and what your regimen includes?

Personally, I use a makiwara composed of two sections of four foot long 2x4 that have been screwed together. The pad is wound rope.

When I started training I learned the hard way not to hit at full force. Makiwaras build your striking surface through repitition, not force. I only hit the ropes with at most 70% force, and usually less.

I also had to learn not to continue hitting after my knuckles began to bleed. If I did, I had to wait over a week for the soft tissue damage to heal before I could go back to training.

It takes a while to get used to striking the rough surface, but my knuckle hardness has really increased and can strike a wall without pain. Using a makiwara also helps with confidence. Once you've spent so much time striking a hard surface you don't feel hesitant toward striking a hard surface on the body like the skull or a joint.

There is a lot more to makiwara training, but I'll stop there. What kind of hand conditioning do you do? What is your process?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to WhiteCrane For This Useful Post:

PorterKenpo (03-04-2009)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,828 Times in 1,256 Posts

Default Re: Hand Conditioning

Quote Originally Posted by WhiteCrane View Post
    I am interested in know how many people on this forum do any form of hand conditioning, and what your regimen includes?

Personally, I use a makiwara composed of two sections of four foot long 2x4 that have been screwed together. The pad is wound rope.

When I started training I learned the hard way not to hit at full force. Makiwaras build your striking surface through repitition, not force. I only hit the ropes with at most 70% force, and usually less.