Thread: Meditation

Thanks

Default Meditation

Is meditation part of your class "ritual"?

It was and is still a part of my training.
    I was surprised when I studied shiatsu that this was also done at the beginning and end of a clinical classroom situation.

Thanks

Default Re: Meditation

Quote Originally Posted by Blackcatbonz

I was surprised when I studied shiatsu that this was also done at the beginning and end of a clinical classroom situation.
    Good question, BCB!

There are a lot of different types of meditation, and a lot of different reasons for doing it. What I usually have seen in classrom meditation is a brief chance to relax, clear the mind and focus at the beggining. Then, at the end it's a way to come down and recenter for reentering the real world.

Most of what I do on my own is contemplative meditation. I take a topic, technique, principle, whatever, then quietly think about it. I try to lose all the extraneos garbage that goes on in my head and focus on the subject. Then, throughout the rest of the day, I periodically return to the topic, either as a way to clm and center myself or just to sort of go on mental cruise control.

Of course there's standing and hugging your qi for long periods, focus point, and the other types of meditation. And meditation in movement- from just regulating breathing to walking through stances and footwork, to Taiji. I'm finding that going through the Yang 24 form is a better preparation than sitting crosslegged with everyone else and waiting for someone to yell "up!"

I also use meditation techniques to relax in physical therapy sessions when the PT has his thumb burried in my sterno-clydo-mastoid muscle all the way to his second joint!

So, yes, meditation is good for training, learning, and life skills. My opinion.

Thanks