Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Offense Or Defense?

Thanks

Question Offense Or Defense?

I gave my 10 yr old daughter and her friend an impromptu martial arts lesson yesterday.
    I've been teaching my daughter on and off since she was about 3 years old......she absorbs what I teach her like a sponge and miraculously retains it.
    This was the first time she "sparred" with anyone other than me and I noticed something curious.
    When sparring with dear old dad, she can be ferocious, always on the offensive and never worrying about what I might do in response to her attacks. It's not that she's out to hurt me, but there is a comfort level there because I tell her to hit me with everything she has.
    While sparring with her friend though, she used a different approach and tossed out everything I showed her.....she tried to act defensively and thus gave her friend the upper hand.
    As I watched her confidence sink with every shot her friend landed I wondered why she was using this defensive approach.
    I really think she was afraid to act offensively out of fear of hurting her friend and reprisal.
    I could see that her friend really meant to hurt her and my daughter was looking at it like a friendly match up. Her friend even went so far as to sucker punch her a few times as I was trying to give instruction, which my daughter left unanswered.

These were traits that I had when I first started studying martial arts, fear of injuring my opponent, fear of reprisal.
    It was hard to strip myself of these until I became a doorman at a club that was known for its violent patrons.
    I had to get it out of my head that when being confronted by danger that merely protecting myself defensively was going to stop the threat.
    My best defense was my offensive ability.....something that my teacher was telling me from day one, but one of those lessons you have to learn on your own.