Thread: Joint Locks

Thanks

Default Joint Locks

I think one of my favourite things to practice are the various joint locks.
    When I first started training they were the most difficult thing to execute, so it sort of became my personal mission to learn to apply them as effortlessly and to any conceivable attack.
    I have since learned that this aspect of martial arts is just another lifelong study......you always uncover new angles and learn to apply them just so.
    Sankyo is the one that I had the most difficulty learning how to apply but has since become my favourite because I find it so versatile.

What are your favourite types of locks?

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Joint Locks

I like Chin Na plus i have a friend who is a 5th degree black and knows them all.
    I have him teach me them at work in between sparring in our uniforms boots and all,kinda funny to see us walk out of the prison with boot marks all over us.
    Just another Lifelong student Walking the Endless journey of Kenpo.(and Loving it)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,520 Times in 909 Posts

There' not a lot of margin for error when applying a joint lock. You have to be "on your game" or they will not be effective. It's a good thing you practice them a lot.
    "It is sobering to reflect that one of the best ways to get yourself a reputation as a dangerous citizen these days is to go about repeating the very phrases which our founding fathers used in the struggle for independence." Charles A. Beard

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Blue Belt
    Thanks

I am not a big fan of locking the joint unless it is for a specific purpose. Locking the joint for the sake of holding uke in place seems to be ok but in a real altercation I would want to remove myself from the situtation as fast as possible and freezing the joint requires me to hold on (not able to run with associated thug attached).