Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sharing Kenpo with your spouse

Thanks
    Thanked 1,277 Times in 709 Posts

Default Sharing Kenpo with your spouse

When I started studying Kenpo Karate under Mr. Roger W. Taylor, I started with my wife. It was Great!!! Finally sharing my passion (martial arts) with Melissa. Granted, she wasn't as "taken" as I was. Every week, once or twice a week, we'd go to Mr. Taylors home for private lessons that'd last for 2-3 hours. Those were some really great days.
    Later, right before she could test for her Orange Belt, she got pregnant with our second child, LeighAnn. Melissa stopped Kenpo early as she could hardly keep food down for a while and by the time she could, she was big and Round...not wanting to risk a thing. That was the end of her Kenpo experience. She did gain from it...but mostly did it to share something with me that was important to me....it wasn't nearly as important to her. I'm glad that she got those solid basics down pat though, I can't always be there with her ya know. Plus, now when I talk to her about Kenpo, martial arts in general or what's going on down at our school....she knows what I'm talking about... and as extremely intelligent as she IS, she knows more about it than I'd think an Orange Belt would. I really miss doing Kenpo together, but she's focused on our family and doing well in her career....both of which have really done great! She occasionally talks about getting back in and earning at least 2-3 more belts. Sometimes she fantasizes about earning her Black. I love those fantasies! But it hasn't panned out. I suppose that when she wants it bad enough....it will pan out. That's the thing about the martial arts..............ya gotta WANT it.

What about everyone here?
    Have you gotten the opportunity to share the martial arts / Kenpo with your husband or wife??