Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand / Finger positions

Thanks
    Thanked 1,741 Times in 1,088 Posts

Default Hand / Finger positions

Hand positions.

When you are in a ready position / fighting stance how do you hold your hands?

What is the placement of your fingers, do they stand alone like a bunch of trees, or do they touch?

Are your hands / fingers relaxed, or tense?

Does it make a difference if the fingers or straight or bent?

Can you feel a difference in the forearm if they are bent vs. straight?
    Brad Marshall SP
    KKFI

trgodbm@yahoo.com

KenpoTalk
    Yellow Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Hand / Finger positions

I will eagerly await replies on to this! Its probably because I'm just starting out, but every instructor I've seen says to use a fist, and yet every picture or video clip of an experienced Kenpoist shows more of an open hand, as you've described.

jds
    "'The eyes are the groin of the head."

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by bureau13 View Post
    I will eagerly await replies on to this! Its probably because I'm just starting out, but every instructor I've seen says to use a fist, and yet every picture or video clip of an experienced Kenpoist shows more of an open hand, as you've described.

jds
    mmm Ive been teaching for a while, and I dont use a fist until impact.
    Brad Marshall SP
    KKFI

trgodbm@yahoo.com

Thanks
    Thanked 1,277 Times in 709 Posts

From what I've seen: