Thread: Couple of newbie questions

Seeking The Path Guest

Question Couple of newbie questions

Hi everyone, I've been studying a Chinese style for 4 years but would like to learn Kenpo. I went to visit a Kenpo school last night and it was very exciting. I think the applications of techniques are very practical. And not to sound corny but I get the impression that many people in Kenpo consider each other to be part of one big family. I've been reading as much as I can find about it online and plan to order some Ed Parker books this week. I have 2 questions that I hope someone will answer.

My first question is about Kenpo organizations. Does it matter which Kenpo organization the school belongs to? In other words, would a school belonging to one organization stay closer to Ed Parker's techniques and methods than a school from a different organization?

And second, can someone tell me the difference (if any) between Ed Parker's American Kenpo and Hawaiian Kenpo? Because I found a school that teaches Hawaiian Kenpo, and I went to their website but it didn't really help me. Do they both teach the same techniques?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Blue Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Couple of newbie questions

First of all, welcome to the forums.

There will be differences between organizations. The main breeds of Kenpo out there can be found here on these forums. Take a look around at the Tracy's forum, the lineages under the Parker forum, and the other styles. If you don't see enough information ask questions there. (More information can aslo be found on the martialtalk.com forums)

I feel the main differences will be in terminology and the structure of the techniques. The basic guiding priciples will be close to the same through out. However, I am by no means an expert in any form of kenpo.

Also you are right in thinking that kenpo is one big family, sometimes there are occasional disputes, but for the most part we try to get along.