Thread: Training while being on-call

Carol is offline Deo duce, ferro comitante
    Thanks

Default Training while being on-call

This is a delicate situation for me.

My office is a 24x7 operation. I work evenings during the week. This makes training tough...I'm usually restricted to day classes and private lessons when I can manage them. I REALLY need more mat time than I am currently able to manage.

I'm now at a point where I will occasionally have enough flexibility to take nighttime classes, as long as I can respond to a critical issue if one comes in.

This would mean that I would need to get my instructor's permission to wear my blackberry in class (covered by my gi of course, NEVER making audible sounds and ONLY vibrating if an alert comes to me.)

If something actionable did come my way, I would have to politely excuse myself from class for the evening.

As a student, I feel that I need to do all I can to help my fellow students have a great class. I don't want to do anything that is disrespectful or disruptive. At the same time, I'm feeling a little bit....selfish, perhaps, because I REALLY want to be on the mat.

So...what say you all? Would it be out of line for me to ask my instructor to attend the occasional evening class while wearing a blackberry?

Alternatively...has anyone accomodated a student in a situation similar to that of mine? If so, how was the accomodation handled?

Thanks everyone!

Carol

Thanks

Default Re: Training while being on-call

Quote Originally Posted by Carol Kaur
    This is a delicate situation for me.

My office is a 24x7 operation. I work evenings during the week. This makes training tough...I'm usually restricted to day classes and private lessons when I can manage them. I REALLY need more mat time than I am currently able to manage.

I'm now at a point where I will occasionally have enough flexibility to take nighttime classes, as long as I can respond to a critical issue if one comes in.