Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I been catching some flak

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default I been catching some flak

I started the post about 25 mins ago and went into elaborate detail about a situation I just so happened to experience tonight during training and somehow another the site said I wasn’t logged in and unfortunately (maybe fortunately depends on how you look at it) I will choose to not type it all out again…

To make a long story boring…

I just earned my purple belt Saturday and I have been doing Kenpo for just over four months I think and lately I have been receiving flak from some of the other students about my advancement in the system. I do understand there will come a point in time when things will not move as fast and get a little more complicated but as of now I have not had a problem learning my basics ( stances, punches, finger tech, blocks, strikes, kicks, parries, foot maneuvers…kenpo stuff) nor the techs, sets, and forms that have been required thus far sticking to the general rules that govern how we move in Kenpo establish your base, strike high-check low, front hand neutral-rear hand forward…kenpo stuff)…

I say all of this to get some input from you guys here. If the student meets the requirements for the school should they not advance? I consider myself somewhat of an athlete I’ve played football, ran track, weightlifted and I’m currently playing around in the MMA arena.. (gasp!!) So a lot of things like coordination, foot work, explosiveness, yada, yada, I have somewhat of a grip on. so some of the elements needed for kenpo I possess to an extent and I think that has helped me through the beginning ranks of the art.

Its late, this post doesn’t make sense but I’ve been here too long to not post it so I’m going to take my chances I’ll clear up any fog tomorrow when I’m not ticked off with this burden we call technology!!!!

Thanks

Default Re: I been catching some flak

Quote Originally Posted by CJPreston