Visit Our Sponsors

Annual Bob and Barbara White Invitational on Saturday March 23, 2014Hubbard Photography presents Martial Arts Photography Worry Free Managed Wordpress Hosting by SilverStar WebDesigns Inc. Click for more details!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Origin of James Mitose's Kenpo?

KenpoTalk
    Yellow Belt
    Thanks

Default The Origin of James Mitose's Kenpo?

Well this has been a hotly debated issue over the years, with at least 7 theory's of where James Mitose got his training.

1. Taught by monks at a family temple in Japan
    2. Taught by his family, the Yoshida Clan
    3. Taught by his family, the Komatsu's.
    4. Taught by Choki Motobu in Japan
    5. Taught in Hawaii by a Motobu student
    6. Taught by Fujika Seiko of Sato Ryu Kenpo Jutsu
    7. Self taught from books by Motobu and Mutsu.

We have a much more diverse group of kenpo practitioners here then some of the other kenpo forums which primarily represent one style of kenpo.
    What I would like to see is for people to present their theory, and the supporting research that brought them to that conclusion.
    Lets have everyone put their pieces to this puzzle on the table so we can look at them and see which ones fit, and which ones don't.
    No personal attacks, just information, and where you got it.

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: The Origin of James Mitose's Kenpo?

Going by his first book, I think it is most likely that he got a LOT of his information from the two books you mentioned. Many of the techniques etc. are reproduced including actual photographs from these two books.