Thread: Kenpo Form 4... Who keeps changing it??

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default Kenpo Form 4... Who keeps changing it??

My name is Angelo Collado I am a 6th Degree Black belt in American Kenpo . My lineage=Parker/Trejo/Furuya. I have been studying for well over 35 years now. I was initially taught Form 4 directly fromFrank Trejo/ Yosh Furuya . I have be fortunate to have met with and have goneover and dissected Form 4 with MANY 1st generation Seniors. Frank Trejo, Roger Meadows, Pat Salantri, Huk Planas, Lee Wedlake to mention a few. Back in the day there was no YouTube or Internet. You had to travel and beg and plead to get some mat time with the seniors. But once I met with all the great instructorsI found that they ALL did Form 4 with all similar angles, attacks, techniques,stances, strikes, blocks , targets and applications and were 99.9% consistent. Evenbeing hundreds of miles apart and not being in communication with each other. There were some differences in timing and interpretation of movements and movement principals… But nothing major that wouldmake the form appear different.
    I have traveled the globe and have attended many Kenpo Eventsover the years. I have been fortunate enough to have been asked to be a judge on many Kenpo tests and tournaments. I have seen “thousands” of Form 4 katas performed over the past 25 years of experience. I have taught Seminars on Form 4, I haveproduced DVD ‘s on form 4, and I have groomed Form 4 for many “IKC/ World Champions. I feel that I am rather familiarwith Form 4 by now, and have a grasp on it a little to make this observation: