Thread: Neutral Bow

Thanks
    Thanked 2,828 Times in 1,256 Posts

Default Neutral Bow

I have gone through several threads regarding the neutral bow. I had a question as far as the line of the feet. If I picture the line running from 12 to 6, and have the toe/heel relationship I feel very narrow when I turn and transition into a forward bow. Is it improper to "thicken the line" so to speak for the toe/heel?

If I do so, am I putting myself into a biomechanical disadvantage for something else later on I might not realize now?

KenpoTalk
    Blue Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Neutral Bow

I'm an engineer, so naturally I question a measurement system as much as I question the thing being measured. So, when you're forming this knee-heel line, we should first consider how we get to it:

1) Rotating on the ball of the rear foot? Inside of the ball of the foot, or middle?
    2) Rotating on the heel of the rear foot?
    3) Rotating the front foot on the ball?
    4) Rotating the front foot on the heel? or
    5) Keeping the front foot on the 45 degree angle?

Notice that all these generate different depths when you go to measure the depth of the neutral bow.

I was teaching a (beginning) student of mine and noticed his neutral bow was always too deep. But everytime he went to check it, sure enough he had the proper line (we go center of the knee to center of the heel, shorter than most). It wasn't until I watched him make the measurement did I realize my mistake in teaching - I wasn't specific on he should make the measurement. He was rotating the front foot forward on the heel, whereas rotating on the ball to bring the heel in makes it a little closer. Anyway, regardless of what specific parameters you're taught, I thought it important to address the means of measuring. Call me a nerd