Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What now?

Thanks

Default What now?

Greetings to all. I am very new to kenpo and have begun the study of the 5.0 system. I will be testing in about 5 weeks and feel confident that I could pass if I were to test next week. I guess it's the level of excitement that any newbie experiences that has motivated me to learn the material very quickly. I also have several years of experience in other martial arts systems so, I have an understanding of "how to learn", and it comes relatively quickly.
    • I know my form on both sides
    • I know the blocking set
    • I know all of the 10 self-defense techniques for this belt level
    • I can demonstrate all of the punches, kicks, stances, and blocks for my belt level
    • I can demonstrate the foot-work manuvers for my belt level
    I can do all of the above in my sleep. I can "sharpen" the self-defense techniques up a bit, and that will come along shortly.

So my question is: What now. Given the depth of experience and wisdom gracing this very forum, there should be some insight into what more I can do to not just prepare for testing but to better position myself for what I am to learn next. I want to develop a very strong set of "basics" for this very reason.

I thank everyone in advance for any responses...even the silly ones that sometimes bring levity to the subject matter here. Everyone here is great and I feel blessed to have such access.

Regards,
    ~Bill Richardson

Rudeness is the frustrated attempt of a small mind to communicate.

Forgive everyone everything

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Orange Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: What now?

Depending on the intensity of the test (tester) stamina can be important. I remember when I went throught this the first time, I got my yellow and orange belt relatively easy, but after that the tests became more intense and I was getting a little sloppy near the end due to lack of stamina.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,741 Times in 1,088 Posts

Brother Bill,