Thread: Universal Kempo vs American Kempo

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Question Universal Kempo vs American Kempo

Hello all, I am a pure beginner to the world of Kempo (taking my 2nd lesson tonight!)

The class I go to teach "Universal Kempo-Karate" (http://universalkempo.com/)which appears to be different than the "American Kempo" that I have read so much about on this forum and others. Is anyone familiar with this version of Kempo, and can advise me of any real differences between the two?

In my first lesson, we did not mention forms at all, and all of the people there (15 of us ranging from White to Black Belt) were all training the same moves that the instructor was showing us. Is this common?

I apologise for the beginner questions, I am just wanting to make sure this is the right school for me before I commit to anything longer term.

Thank you very much in advance for any advice you can give!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,520 Times in 909 Posts

Default Re: Universal Kempo vs American Kempo

Interesting....

Not a lot of info on the web page. It seems it has Hawaian roots with a heavy Chinese influence based on what I read.

At any rate, Amercian Kenpo was created by SGM Ed Parker, who also trained in Hawaii.

Hawaii was a "bottleneck" of martial knowledge due to it's location between Asia and the U.S. mainland. I wouldn't be at all surprised to find you study similar principles and methods.
    "It is sobering to reflect that one of the best ways to get yourself a reputation as a dangerous citizen these days is to go about repeating the very phrases which our founding fathers used in the struggle for independence." Charles A. Beard

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Thank you very much for the reply! I appreciate you taking the time to reply to aid my lack of knowledge!