Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 24 & 16 technique system

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Smile 24 & 16 technique system

Hi

Just a quick question, I have noticed that some kenpo schools teach the EP 24 technique system and others only 16, could somebody please explain to me why this is, and what associations normally tend to teach the 16 technique method.

Many thanks!

Thanks

Default Re: 24 & 16 technique system

The easiest way to sum it up is both teach 154 + 96 extensions but one finishes at 3rd black and one at 5th black.
    PARKER - HERMAN - SECK

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Martin Seck For This Useful Post:

Richard Finn (06-24-2007)

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Ok, so there are 24 techniques to each belt except yellow, so what are the extensions and can you explain how this works please. I am sorry if this seems a stupid question, but i am a complete beginner to kenpo.

KenpoTalk
    Green Belt
    Thanks

For the 24 system you start learning the extensions in 1st degree brown.. these are the orange belt extensions .. 1st black is the purple.. second black is the blue and the 3rd black is the green.. there is no extensions for the yellow or brown belts.. making a grand total of 250 self defensives..
    96 + 154

for the 16 system you start learning the extension at 2nd black... I believe!
    2rd black the purple, 4th the blue and 5th the green.

The 16 system is a little easier to learn and you can advance quicker.
    I'm a 24 systemer myself and like it a lot. Slower to get the belts but I find that I'm learning the system more deeply.

James
    Last edited by NickName99; 06-24-2007 at 02:56 PM.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to NickName99 For This Useful Post:

Martin Seck (06-24-2007)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by wolfenmoon View Post