Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Techniques using weapons:

KenpoTalk
    Purple Belt
    Thanks

Question Techniques using weapons:

Hi all ,
    Last night was weapons training and as usual, I had many questions (which popped into my head on the way home), but here is one about the system instead of a move or strike.

Do we have any Weapons Techniques in American Kenpo??
    (I'm referring to using a weapon as part of the technique, not a disarm or an open hand defense against XYZ weapon.)

If weapons are an extension of our limbs, then shouldn't we train with 'Weapons Techniques' as well as Weapons Forms/Sets??

I've only seen forms w/ weapons so I apologize if 'Weapons Techniques' are part of the system, I'm only a novice
    What have I learned from this???

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Blue Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Techniques using weapons:

There are weapons taught in EPAK.

They include staff (or bo) taught in staff set. Double sticks taught in Long 7, and double knives in Long 8.

Not every EPAK school teaches these forms and sets. However, try incorperating a weapon into any self defense technique. The results will surprise you. The body mechanics for using the weapons are no differnt, the only thing that really changes is the range depending on the weapon.

-Josh
    Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned. - Buddha

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dubljay For This Useful Post:

thedan (06-21-2007)

KenpoTalk
    Purple Belt
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by dubljay
    However, try incorperating a weapon into any self defense technique. The results will surprise you.
    -Josh

Yes Sir,
    That is exactly my point
    Thanks for your reply

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Blue Belt
    Thanks

After having a very brief experience with Doce Paras Eskrima some of the self defense techniques look quite similar.