Thread: Basic fighting stance?

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
    Thanks

Default Basic fighting stance?

What is your fighting stance? I learned to put both feet at a 45 degree angle. I started studying Shaolin Kempo from the United Studios of Self Defense and they say I need to put my front foot straight ahead?
    Usually I associate the lead foot straght ahead into more Korean syles? Any opinions on this subject?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,520 Times in 909 Posts

Default Re: Basic fighting stance?

The neutral bow. It allows for both mobility and stability. It obscures vital target areas from your opponent.
    Brief overview->
    -weight distributed 50/50 between both legs
    -both feet angled in and pointed in the same direction (similar to a horse stance)
    -knees bent and angled out
    -heel/toe alignment: The heel of your rear foot should be in line with the toes of your front foot (so that you are 'bladed' obscuring targets)
    -knee heel relationship: if you drop your to your rear knee the distance between your knee and heel of the front foot should be approximately the distance from the end of your pinky to the end of your thumb holding your hand like the "hang loose" sign) This tells you that your stance is not to wide for mobility and not to thin for stability.
    -Back straight
    -Head erect (these last two help maintain proper posture and center of balance)
    -Rear hand chambered, palm up and ready for action
    -Front hand bent at 45 degrees, not to far out (don't want to be grabbed) and not to far in (don't want your own hand slammed into your face)
    "It is sobering to reflect that one of the best ways to get yourself a reputation as a dangerous citizen these days is to go about repeating the very phrases which our founding fathers used in the struggle for independence." Charles A. Beard

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Orange Belt
    Thanks