Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "advanced" color belts?

Thanks

Default "advanced" color belts?

just curious.. i keep seeing/hearing of advanced color belts lately. like an advanced green belt stopped by my school the other week to check us out. he had a black gi so im guessing he was an instructor at a time.. and 2 black stripes on his green belt.. i cant remember if he had a black line in the middle of his belt or not..

just curious how does this whole "advanced" thing work, how do you test for that at different schools. what is the significance, etc. as you can guess we dont have that at my school...

Thanks

Default Re: "advanced" color belts?

At one school I attended, they had "Tips"- a colored stripe on their belt that signified they had been tested and were @ 1/2 way through the belt level. I didn't really care for it. Then again, I really don't like the "belt" system either. I was a private instruction student, but they let me work out with their classes any time I was in town. It wasn't uncommon for the "junior" students to move better than the "tiped" students.

Thanks

I"ve been at schools with stripes and schools without.

Commercial schools tend to have them more. It marks progress, lets the other instructors know how much the students know (in case the instructors change), and helps to remind the instructors where each student is.

If you have 50-100 students, it can be hard to remember where each one is. A stripe can either mean halfway or a third.

I don't think the stripes are necessary after purple or so. By the time you are up to that rank, you should be committed enough to not need the extra validation of progress.

They don't bother me though. I give my students stripes. It makes them feel good and then we joke around about them. Those who miss class, miss out on allll the cool things we learn and they don't get stripes.

--Amy