Thread: A few questions about some of the Kenpo associations

Thanks

Default A few questions about some of the Kenpo associations

I hope this does not stir up a wasp nest but I am very curious and would like to know if there are any advantages.

Ever since I started in Kenpo and found this site and Martial talk I have noticed there seems to be a lot of association , IKKA, IKCA, LTKKA, AKKA, WKKA, SWKKA, and I am guessing there are others. And since my instructor was a member of one association but decided to leave for his own reasons long before I ever started at this school, I am left wondering if there would be any advantage to me joining one or more of the groups out there. I am not of high rank, I am very new to Kenpo and the school I attend does not seem to be associated with any of the lines of teaching other than Mr. Parker.

If it would be to my advantage to join one or more, does any one have any advise or direction I should be looking. Would one be better suited for a beginner? I have to think each would have a lot to offer in there own way but I would not be willing to switch to another school to join.

So any advice or tips from those who know a lot more than I do would be much appreciated
    Last edited by hemi; 03-10-2006 at 06:59 PM.
    A black belt covers 2" of your butt. Covering the rest is soley up to you

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Blue Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: A few questions about some of the Kenpo associations

Well, I made it to first black with out being a member of an association and because I was part of a really great school I didn't feel as though I was missing out on much. However, I'm now a member of the LTKKA, and do feel that there are some added benefits to being one. Besides patches, discounts, newsletters and such, it feels like being part of a group - part of a family. I'm w/out a home dojo presently and it makes me feel more connected.

BTW, are you part of Keith Gorham's school? I noticed you are in Forney.
    -Camey