Thread: CD's

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Thumbs up CD's

Hello
    I have never made it to any camps yet. I have heard that there are cd's we can purchase. Are they training or forms??? Or am I miss informed??? Great web site!!!! I'm a purple so I just read and soak up what everybody is saying.

Thanks

Default Re: CD's

There are lots of good dvd's out there. My personal favorites are Larry Tatum's.

His website is:

www.ltatum.com

Cheers,

Jamie Seabrook

www.seabrook.gotkenpo.com

KenpoTalk
    Yellow Belt
    Thanks

there are two kinds of cd's (that i've seen anyway), musical and video clips of Mr. Mills doing stuff. I recommend both because the video clips of him doing stuff are great for studying motion. The musical cds are a little less obvious to use in instruction in my opinion but have a lot of the rhythms (sp?) of the timing patterns we use. Not being a musician I have a hard time picking this up but my more musically inclined students say they find the CDs great help to be playing in the background.

So in summary I recommend both types of CDs.

Hope that helps,
    Tim Kulp
    Westminster, MD

KenpoTalk
    Adv. Yellow Belt
    Thanks

Smile Re: CD's

The CD's aren't instructional in the sense that you will hear someone saying,"now that you have stepped back with your left foot, execute a right thrusting inward block from point of origin." Rather, what you will see is Mr. Mills executing the AKKI material. Sometimes slow, sometimes fast, but always energetic and powerful.