Thread: Hello

KenpoTalk
    Yellow Belt
    Thanks

Default Hello

Hi,

I feel lucky I found your forums while searching the internet. I want to study Kempo again, and am having a difficult time finding a school in my area.

When I was 15, I enrolled at the Westmont Academy of Self Defense. The school was run by Sensi Romier, and I was taught by Sensi Lewis. I studied for two years. A few years later while driving down Cass avenue I saw the school was closed.

I believe the style I was taught was Kosho Shorei Kempo. Our crest was the octogon, with three circles inside. One circle had a right hand fist held in the left hand to symbolize the mind controlling the body. Another circle had the two hands forming a triangle, this symbolized to only look for the good in people. The last symbol was two hands praying. Our uniform was black.

Before I started Kempo, I was slightly overweight and not flexible at all. I was the kid in gym class who was picked last in most sports. After a year of Kempo, I was flexible enough to kick over my head. I became better at other sports. I felt like a new better person. I lost weight also, I felt healthy and happy.

This was all back in 1991 and 1992.

I would like to start training again. Kempo brought me peace and happiness. It cleared the clutter in my mind, it gave me something good to focus on.