Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Alot less Tracy's than Parker's Pro's & con's

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    Thanks

Default Alot less Tracy's than Parker's Pro's & con's

I am a newbie only been training for almost 2 years. But it sure seems that there are way way more Parker students than Tracy students.
    Has any one trained in Both? And what are the pro's and con's.
    I am a Tracy student. Just curious
    Please.......don't confuse my kindness for weakness.....

Thanks

Default Re: Alot less Tracy's than Parker's Pro's & con's

Quote Originally Posted by tiger63
    I am a newbie only been training for almost 2 years. But it sure seems that there are way way more Parker students than Tracy students.
    Has any one trained in Both? And what are the pro's and con's.
    I am a Tracy student. Just curious
    Several of us have done both.

I did Tracy system for about two years between purple belt and almost green. I was fortunate to have an outstanding instructor. My basics improved ten-fold. That was the advantage for me. A hard-core instructor when I was in a position to have it.

Now, it would be too much. There is a lot more to memorize, as far as techniques, but there aren't as many katas.

I find the Parker system to be more fluid. The Tracy system looks more like hard style, which doesn't interest me as much.

As I said though, I had an outstanding instructor who gave me just what I needed when I needed it, so I have no complaints either way.

--Amy
    The New Kenpo Continuum Book is now accepting submissions for volume 2. Our fabulous, ever-changing website is Sacramento Kenpo Karate.
    I'm a member of the Universal Life Church and the ULC Seminary. I'm also a Sacramento Wedding Minister and Disc Jockey
    New Cool (free) kenpo tool bar: http://KenpoKarate.OurToolbar.com/

3. The Following User Says Thank You to amylong For This Useful Post:

Brother John (11-16-2007)

KenpoTalk
    Adv. White Belt
    Thanks