Thread: cover outs

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default cover outs

Hi all,

Being as I'm relatively new to kenpo, and have not yet tested for my purple belt, could you all give me a good discription of the mechanics of a cover out vs a double cover out?
    Thanks for your help.
    Karl

Thanks

Default Re: cover outs

the only difference is another step out after you crossover/coverout
    Brian Sheets
    VKKSI Kenpo 1st Black

Only a warrior chooses pacifism; others are condemned to it." ~ Unknown
    "Don't hit at all if it is honorably possible to avoid hitting, but never hit soft." Theodore Roosevelt

Thanks
    Thanked 1,181 Times in 674 Posts

First let us review a couple of basic foot manuevers.

The Step Through Foot Manuever ... gains or looses distance by one step, and switches which side is facing our opponent.

Example: If we are in a stance with our left foot forward, and we move our right foot forward to the front position, we have completed a Step Through Foot Manuever. We are now closer to our opponent, with the opposite foot forward. Step Through Foot Manuevers can also be Reverse steps, which bring us away from our opponent. (this manuever is like walking)

The Front Crossover Foot Manuever ... gains or looses distance by one step, and keeps the same side facing our opponent.

Example: If we are in a stance with our left foot forward, and we move our right foot from the back, forward, placing our right heel, just to the left of our left toes, we are in a 'front twist' stance. We continue the manuever by bringing our left foot from behind our right foot, forward to the appropriate stance depth. This foot manuever can also move in a Forward or Reverse direction, gaining or loosing distance. It is called a 'Front' crossover foot manuever because the first foot to move goes in front of the supporting foot (which is the second foot to move).