Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How does 55 techniques compare with the 24 / 32 Parker teachings?

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default How does 55 techniques compare with the 24 / 32 Parker teachings?

Greetings to all. I am a student of IKCA Kenpo. I love what I'm learning and I like my instructors and fellow students. When I read about Ed Parker's Kenpo, and I see how many more techniques there are, I can't help but wonder, am I missing out on some important things? Is having all those techniques (What is it 162 or something? ) valuable or is it so much that it is overwhelming to remember? Is having 55 techniques better? Anyway, I'd like to hear any thoughts you may have. Thanks!

Thanks

Default Re: How does 55 techniques compare with the 24 / 32 Parker teachings?

Hi Renee,

Welcome.

I don't know the 55, but I have made the switch from the 24/Tatum to the 14/20/Speakman and there are a lot of new techniques for me to learn.

As far as I'm concerned, the more you can learn, the better, so after you get the 55 down, you can always learn the other techniques in the system.

Then decide for yourself.

--Amy
    The New Kenpo Continuum Book is now accepting submissions for volume 2. Our fabulous, ever-changing website is Sacramento Kenpo Karate.
    I'm a member of the Universal Life Church and the ULC Seminary. I'm also a Sacramento Wedding Minister and Disc Jockey
    New Cool (free) kenpo tool bar: http://KenpoKarate.OurToolbar.com/

3. The Following User Says Thank You to amylong For This Useful Post:

Brother John (08-28-2009)

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks