Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Is the IKCA the perfect vehicle for a modern expression of Kenpo????

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default Is the IKCA the perfect vehicle for a modern expression of Kenpo????

I am actually new to Kenpo, and I love it...While I’ve been in martial arts for a long time, this is my new adventure. As such, I am not bringing forth an expert opinion. Having said that, I believe if nothing else, I do bring a “fresh set of eyes” so to speak.
    It’s my opinion that if Kenpo wants to ever reclaim its prominence and popularity then schools should migrate towards a more modern expression of kenpo. Perhaps not in changing the art per say, but more in its packaging (i.e. no gi, remove some of the Kung-fuey flash, etc.) Think...the American version of Krav Maga. I for one would like to see that evolution and I believe the IKCA is the perfect vehicle for that. What are your thoughts? Blasphemy, or Innovation????
    Last edited by Brett; 01-06-2018 at 12:09 PM.

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Brett For This Useful Post:

KenpoMD (01-07-2018),nelson (01-06-2018)

KenpoTalk
    White Belt
    Thanks

Default Re: Is the IKCA the perfect vehicle for a modern expression of Kenpo????

If that’s the case, then that’s really, really sad.
    And I didn’t mean to suggest that EPAK or any other systems would not work equally as well. Of course it would...
    I simply think the “condensed” ideology of IKCA would be a great self defense foundation (Practitioner Levels) if coupled with a separate workout curriculum (aka P90X-like), a traditional expression for kids (w/ Gi), and utilizing the EPAK self defense training for the advanced (Graduate Level) program. I’d love to see someone or some organization do something like that. I think in essence it would align an amazing, but currently stagnant art, with today’s MA culture. Just the humble opinion of a newbie, but mine none the less....

Thanks