Thread: 20 Questions with Ron "Doc' Chapel

Thanks
    Thanked 1,263 Times in 801 Posts

Default 20 Questions with Ron "Doc' Chapel

What year did you start studying Kenpo?

I met Ed Parker on a Sunday in the summer of 1963, and became a private student immediately meeting with him that week for my first lesson.

What is your current rank?

Who cares? Rank has become meaningless in today’s Kenpo environment. Everybody is a 9th or 10th, but few have the knowledge to make such claims.

What brought you to Kenpo?

Ed Parker was already a legend in the arts even as a young man. I studied originally with Ark Wong and was overjoyed to discover that was one of his many teachers as well.

What kept you studying Kenpo?

In the beginning, Ed Parker. Since his passing, my desire to complete many of the things we started, and show that Ed Parker was even more of a genius than most knew. I also promised him I would always “Spread (his) gospel.”

What was your first class like?

It was truly a unique experience from a martial arts teacher. I dressed and warmed up. He sat me down in the office and we talked for a couple of hours about his many ideas and how he intended to implement them. I received the greatest lesson I had ever had, and we never went to the mat.

What has been your biggest Highlight during your Kenpo career?

Among many, being introduced to Mr. Parker’s Mother and family in Hawaii as a “friend.”

What is your fondest training memory?

All of them.

Do you prefer standard classes or seminars when you teach?

I prefer classes where I can truly teach. In seminars, the info is abbreviated and you can only demo information. Teachers must leave students with useful information they can understand AND implement. Otherwise, you’re just “enlightening.”

What is your fondest memory of Ed Parker?