Thread: Duality in American Kenpo

Ceicei is offline Knowledge Seeker
    Thanks

Default Duality in American Kenpo

Kenpo Seniors,

This is a question I had been thinking about in my mind for a long time regarding American Kenpo, but didn't have the words to frame what I was thinking and how to ask this. The concepts in my mind became clear exactly how to ask regarding American Kenpo when I recently came across similar concepts within Jujitsu (I am still a beginning Jujitsu student). Once I understood how I wanted to ask, I finally did ask my Kenpo instructor.

I also wish to get more feedback on this, so I would like to extend the same questions to the Kenpo Seniors of KenpoTalk.

First, the background of the concept as I understand it before I extend this into questions at the end for you regarding American Kenpo. I am going to put into a quotation block the concepts I learned from Danzan Ryu Jujitsu that made this a little clearer for me and will provide the reasoning why I am asking regarding American Kenpo.
    This is the question I asked my Danzan Ryu Instructor:

I've been reading the recent Kiai Echo magazine [a magazine devoted to Danzan Ryu and this particular issue focused upon this subject] and am left with a question concerning the duality of Kappo and Sappo (or healing and killing). Why are we taught some of the killing first, but do not learn the healing in our early training until later? If these concepts are the two sides of the same coin, why not teach them simultaneously?

I got several answers that satisfied me with how different Danzan Ryu instructors determine the timing and setting of their own curricula. I also was told there are quite a few instructors who do not have much experience with the Kappo side anyway, so they do not teach that--cannot teach what is not well known. This led me to ask further about the whys, so I learned much more from both my instructor and my instructor's instructor regarding their views and experience.